HomeGuidesRecipesAPI
HomeGuidesAPILog In

Workflow States

A workflow state represents a stage or steps in the workflow process. The number of states added to a workflow will determine the number of steps the workflow will go through or the simplicity or complexity of the workflow.

Usage

  1. Drag and drop states into the workflow. For more information, refer to state types.
  1. Drag and drop a Transition into the state you want to transition from.
  2. Validate the workflow settings.
  3. Save the project.

Types of States

(Start) State

By default, all workflows start with this state. The (Start) state can be renamed but not deleted.

State Properties

  • Name – By default, a new state is called 'State #' but the name can be changed at any time. However, each state name must be unique.

  • Allow Cancellation – Gives the option to stop or cancel the workflow at this particular state by the following:

    • By Current Assignee – (Default) The person currently assigned to the workflow. This user can click the Cancel button from the Home page or a Dashboard.
    • By Creator – Whoever submitted the first form
    • By Previous Assignee – The person who assigned the workflow to the current assignee
  • Due Date – Set a due date for triggering escalations. Available options are:

    • None – No Due Date
    • Days After – Number of days after the workflow reaches this particular state. Optionally, the Designer can select only Weekdays.
    • Date – Specific date using a reference question in the form (Calculated via Formula or Date Questions type).
  • Mentions – Gives the option to engage additional users or invite them to a workflow by mentioning them in a comment by using the ‘@’ syntax. Any user mentioned will receive an email notification with a link to the state or comment.

    • Users with State Access – Only users that currently have access to the state can be mentioned.
    • Anyone – Any user can be mentioned and they will be dynamically added as an observer to view the task and make comments.
  • Observers – Configure a user or group to view a read-only version of an in-progress workflow as well as specify the communication template to use. For more information, refer to Observers.

Approval State

The Approval workflow state is a placeholder for the form using an approval function. When added to the workflow, the user can select an approval from the drop-down list of available approvals that have already been configured in Manage.​ See Approvals.

Approval Properties

  • Name – By default, the name of the selected Approval. This can be renamed at any point.
  • Approval – The name of the selected Approval.
  • Quick Approval – Enabling this option gives the Approver the ability to quickly approve or reject the request from the Produce dashboard.
  • View type – Select from Form or Summary:
  • Form – The form is displayed using pages and the Approver will have to use the Next and Back buttons to view the request.
  • Summary – Shows all the fields on one page using a form summary view. Useful for small to medium sized forms, where the request can be displayed without too much scrolling. The following configurations are available for summary view:
    • Collapsible pages – Group pages in an accordion style tab group
    • Include All Multiple Choice Answers – Displays all the answers and highlights the selected answer.
    • Answered Questions Only - Only include questions that have been answered.
  • Mentions – Gives the option to engage additional users or invite them to a workflow by mentioning them in a comment by using the ‘@’ syntax. Any user mentioned will receive an email notification with a link to the state or comment.
    • Users with State Access – Only users that currently have access to the state can be mentioned.
    • Anyone – Any user can be mentioned and they will be dynamically added as an observer to view the task and make comments.
  • Approver – Configure a user that can approve/reject the workflow from the Produce home page or a dashboard. For more information, refer to Approvers.

📘

Approver

The Approver section will only display if Approvals > Clause Builder type in Manage has been set to User.

  • Observers – Configure a user or group to view a read-only version of an in-progress workflow. For more information, refer to Observers.

(Finish) State